My 24-hour Comics Day Original Work: West Fury

On 4th October 2014 morning greeted with drizzle, my 2nd participation in 24-hour Comics Day Challenge kicked off with some old pals and many new friends at 12 noon. It ended with great satisfaction and a huge success from all participants. Of course, great love to the organiser, JF Koh, Kim Sia, Ichiro Film, Jason and Chris Shaw from Laselle College of the Arts as well as the sponsors for their lovely souvenirs. Thanks Uncle Bill for dropping by, too!

With some persuasion, I also managed to drag 2 friends, Marc Leong and Annabella Goh to join me on this special day. I’m glad that they enjoyed as much as I did. Click on their names to see more of their work.

Great twist in the end of this story. So happy that Annabella completed it together with Marc and me, and great fun and laughter, too.

Great twist in the end of this story. So happy that Annabella completed it together with Marc and me, with great fun and lots of laughter, too.

Marc's EVIL PAPAYA is awesome!  We had some crazy moments discussing how to kill the papaya!

Marc’s EVIL PAPAYA is awesome! We had some crazy moments discussing how to kill the papaya!

Here is my journey: I spent almost 21 hours to complete it with the help from my partner, Dorothy for filling in the story’s dialogs. It wasn’t easy using the traditional way – paper, ink and water-colour but I enjoyed the whole process.

After some rough draft of panelings, I penciled all 24 pages at once. It was almost 6pm by the time I completed all the penciling. The organisers’ cup noodles were our dinner, supper and breakfast subsequently. Coffee and cigarettes were my BEST friends! I estimated my work rate of 2 inked and coloured pages per hour. Without hesitation, I dived straight in to ink and water-colour the pages after dinner. I began with page 24 from the back. At page 9, it was almost 4am and I was quite tired. After washed up my face, had a smoke, downed a Redbull with some biscuits, I continued my madness over the remaining 8 pages.

About 8.30am, I have fully rendered all 24 pages! Initially, I planned to apply some dot-screens on some pages but at the half-awaken state, I abandoned the idea, with much regrets. For the letterings, I intended to write on cut-out tracing papers and glued it onto the pages. Dumped the idea, too. Eventually, I cooked up the idea of doing the lettering on the Post-it pad and sticked onto the pages. Didn’t look too bad, I must admit. And finally, fatigue set in. The relief valve was opened in full steam…

One of my favourite pages. The shock and the impact were captured quite satisfactory.

One of my favourite pages. The shock and the impact were captured quite satisfactory.

2nd favourite page. It has been a long time that I last drawn horses.

2nd favourite page. It has been a long time that I last drawn horses.

Here I present you the original, raw and uncut version of the comics.

Click this to see the full comics: WEST FURY

This is the "Like" form for my work. I wanna thank all those who left their names for the love.

This is the “Like” form for my work. I wanna thank all those who left their names for the love.

Some certificates nominated by fellow artists and friends.

Some certificates nominated by fellow artists and friends.

If you wanna find out more, here are some links to this event:

HereBeGeeks.com

JustSaying.sg

Perspective

I would like to mention some friends, old and new, on their effort for this special day. They are Kelvin Chan & Rae, Kelly Bender, Jerry, Paul Pereira, Angel Starr, Mervin Chee, Chua Eng Chee, JayShen Zo, Anson Tan, Jek, Calvin Chua, Gene, Wayne, Ong Hoey Siang, Lefty, Dinah Wee, Clio, MaryAnn, Ray Toh, Benjamin Chee, Gary Zhu, Noah, Wai Hong, Alfonsus, Eugene Lim, Christal Kuna, etc. Go check these guys out!

I’m sorry if I missed out any of you. Please don’t kill me!

By the way, I will be re-edit the comics for a more complete version. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

